Kool-Aid Hair Dye

I’m typing this story with red kool-aid stained hands.  This morning I attempted to dye my daughters hair pink with cherry kool-aid mixed with conditioner.  I used two packets of kool-aid per girl and a good squirt of conditioner.  I let the girls mix it up with a spoon and it seemed the longer they mixed, the more the conditioner separated into a watery grainy mess, so I recommend not stirring too much and putting it on immediately before the conditioner separates.  Then I started mixing it into their hair and it was very drippy and I got some on the floor.  After about two minutes, they started complaining that it was itchy and began scratching.  So after five minutes, I put them both in the shower and we watched the water turn red at their feet.  They got out, got dressed and I don’t see any pink hair.  What a disappointment, maybe we didn’t keep it in long enough, but it was kind of fun to do an activity with them and our house smells great.  I’ll have to go to the store and see if I can find some temporary pink hair dye and we’ll try it again.

Daily Bible Reading

2 thoughts on “Kool-Aid Hair Dye

  1. Someone gave my youngest daughter a can of pink temporary spray dye for her birthday one year. They, of course, were not the parents of a teen daughter. We hoped she would forget about it in time (yeah, right). One Wednesday night she was going to Youth at a nearby church, and wanted to spray her hair pink. Her mother wasn’t home at the time and I thought, “Okay. Let’s get this out of her system and the can out of our house now when it will cause the least friction.” I helped her spray the can empty and off we went. Sadly for her, it didn’t get her the kind of attention she was hoping for but it was a learing experience without too much pain. Now, 6 years later, she does own a green wig but stays away from bizarre colors with too much permanence.

Leave a Reply

