Finding My Life as a Mom

“To fully experience our fulfillment in Christ and fulfill His will for our lives, we must come to the point where we give our whole selves to Him –our freedom, our time, our bodies, all of our possessions and gifts–trusting Him to show us how to use all that we are for His glory. To sacrifice means to give up or surrender something of value. We are living sacrifices, which means that moment by moment, out of our worship of Him, we are to surrender our own needs and expectations for the greater value of pleasing our Lord…..He clearly states, again and again, that if we lose our lives for Him, we will find our lives–the joy and fulfillment we long for.” The Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson

I’ve kind of been feeling the tug of my heart to go more this direction, but I’ve been ignoring it in favor of my own desires. To be honest, I know exactly what things I do in my life that are frivolous and don’t bring me satisfaction..only temporary amusement, but I keep doing them anyway just because I want to. Today I want to give my time to my daughters, I want to put puzzles together with them, spend an hour reading every book in the house, bake something delicious, teach them some bible stories and love on them all throughout the day without them having to beg for my attention.

God, help me to put my wants aside and go get what I really need. Help me to find my life. Show me what it really means to sacrifice my desires. Amen

One thought on “Finding My Life as a Mom

  1. Goodness. Still struggling with this issue. No wonder you seem frustrated. You want to be more for your daughters, but you want more for yourself too. There’s no sin in that. You are simply (like it’s simple, huh?) conflicted because you recognize the desire to be the mother you think you should be but also are aware of needs in your life to be met to be a healthy person, mother and wife. How do you serve both of those masters? It is not healthy to choose one over the other, but how do you achieve balance? That’s a tuff one for sure. We’ll have to deal with that. I’d like to help. WE all have to achieve tah balance in conflicting areas of out lives

Leave a Reply

