Following God’s Will

Following God’s will has always been confusing for me, but I’m starting to figure out how to do it slowly and here are some tips that I have learned along the way that might help you. I think there are several different ways to follow God’s will depending on our situation and circumstances.

1. There are some general commands in the bible that are God’s will for everyone as a life purpose and we must use these to direct our lives. We are all called to evangelize through loving other people, this is to be one of our main goals in this life. Also we are all called to glorify God and to love Him forever.
“Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.” Mark 1:17

2. First and foremost, we must go to the bible. If the bible says something, then it is God’s will. For instance, the bible tells us not to murder. So no matter what we think, we should not murder someone. That is God’s will. We must weigh whatever we “think” God is telling us to do with the scripture and make sure they match. If they don’t match, it is a good sign that it is NOT God’s will.

3. If you are unsure about a decision, ask trusted Christian friends or elders for advice. It is very easy to get confused or emotionally wrapped up in something and a wise outside source is often a good idea.

4. The third way to follow God’s will is more vague and requires some faith. One of my friends described it to me by saying, “you have to hold your hand out and tell God that whatever He decides to place into your hand, you will obey, but be careful, if you say yes, He might give you something bigger to do next time and if you say no, He might not ask you again”. I thought it was crazy when she told me that, it was just too naive and trusting and I didn’t think God would speak to me that way, but I had to give it a try; I didn’t want to miss out on anything. So that evening I went for a walk and I actually held my hand out and asked God if He wanted to place anything in it. It didn’t happen immediately After waiting awhile, I passes a church and I felt strongly that God wanted me to go inside and pray. He didn’t tell me what to pray for, just to go inside and pray. I did not want to do it. I’d never been in that church before, I didn’t know anything about it, I didn’t even know anyone who went there. So I walked right by the church and told myself the door was probably locked and why would God ask me to do something so stupid anyway. Then I worried, “what if He doesn’t ask me to do anything again?” Can I take that risk? What if it REALLY is God talking to me and telling me this? So I turned around and went into the church (the door wasn’t locked), I went into the sanctuary, sat in one of the pews and just bowed my head and prayed about whatever came into my head. It wasn’t special or anything. That’s how it started with me, and now I try to keep my hands open to God and if I “feel” a sense that He is telling me to do something, I try to obey. I don’t always obey, sometimes I intentionally ignore Him and this is wrong. Even if I don’t understand the reasoning behind it, as long as it’s not against the bible, I obey. Usually it is something small, and often it is Him telling me to stay away from something that is harmful to me.
And your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left. Isaiah 30:21

5. I think the 5th way that we need to consider God’s will is through signs and dreams. I do believe that God speaks to us this way, but I also think we need to be highly skeptical of this form of communication and test, test, test it because I think that Satan uses this against us too. Sometimes Satan gives us a dream or idea and makes us think it is from God when it is really from Satan. Or Satan will try to make us dependent on signs and not on trusting God alone to communicate with God.

6. Sometimes God doesn’t tell us what to do, we just have to decide for ourselves what we want to do (refer back to #1). Like for instance our career. We can pray to Him and ask Him what He wants us to do, and not get an answer, so we might have to wait or we might just have to choose something and trust that He will guide us gently where to go with it.

Following God’s will is not something to stress over too much, He is sovereign and will get you where you need to go, but make sure that your faith in Him is strong. Spend time with Him daily in His word and worshipping Him, the better you know Him, the easier it will be to listen to Him. God bless you on your journey..

Leave a Reply

